LEIPSIC LOCAL SCHOOL

Board of Education

Minutes

Date: December 11, 2023 . Kind of Meeting: Regular

The Leipsic Local Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, December 11, 2023 at 7:00 p.m. in the Media Center.

The following board members were present: Cindy Erickson, Emily Liffick, Tim Nadler, John Schortgen, and Sam Walther.

Administration present included: Greg Williamson, Superintendent; Brian Bennett, MS/HS Principal; Darren Henry, Elementary Principal; and Megan Tobe, Student Success Coordinator.

In attendance was four staff members, three students, three parents, two community members, and the new elect Board members - Brian Reynolds, Barry Ward, and Kirk Wensink.

A motion was made by Sam Walther, and seconded by Tim Nadler, to approve the minutes of the November 2023 board meeting. Vote: Sam Walther—yea; Tim Nadler—yea; Cindy Erickson—yea; Emily Liffick—yea; and John Schortgen—yea. Motion passed 5-0.

Cindy Erickson made a motion, and John Schortgen seconded the move, to approve financial statements as presented (Bills, Interest, etc.). Vote: Cindy Erickson—yea; John Schortgen—yea; Emily Liffick—yea; Tim Nadler—yea; and Sam Walther—yea. Motion passed: 5-0.

NEW BUSINESS

Personnel:

Cindy Erickson made a motion, and John Schortgen seconded the move, to accept the retirement of Kathleen Rieman effective June 1, 2024, with appreciation for her years of service to students and the district. Vote: Cindy Erickson—yea; John Schortgen—yea; Tim Nadler—yea; Emily Liffick—yea; and Sam Walther—yea. Motion passed: 5-0.

Sam Walther made a motion, and Tim Nadler seconded the move, to accept the resignation of Connie Mangas effective November 13, 2023 as cafeteria staff. Vote: Sam Walther—yea; Tim Nadler—yea; Cindy Erickson—yea; Emily Liffick—yea; and John Schortgen—yea. Motion passed: 5-0.

John Schortgen made a motion, and Sam Walther seconded the move, to accept the resignation of Paulette Bennett effective November 29, 2023 as cafeteria staff. Vote: John Schortgen—yea; Sam Walther—yea; Cindy Erickson—yea; Emily Liffick—yea; and Tim Nadler—yea. Motion passed: 5-0.

Cindy Erickson made a motion, and Tim Nadler seconded the motion, to approve the following individuals to serve as non-traditional classroom substitutes during the 2023-24 school year.

One-Year Temp Substitution License: Shylene Giron

Vote: Cindy Erickson—yea; Tim Nadler—yea; Emily Liffick—yea; John Schortgen—yea; and Sam Walther—yea. Motion passed: 5-0.

Cindy Erickson made a motion, and John Schortgen seconded the move, to approve the bid from Krinke Enterprise LLC for school campus snow removal for 2023-2024 school year per attached. Vote: Cindy Erickson—yea; John Schortgen—yea. Emily Liffick —yea; Tim Nadler—yea; and Sam Walther—yea. Motion passed: 5-0.

Tim Nadler made a motion, and seconded by Sam Walther, to approve the second reading of the following Board Policies & Forms:

Policy 0142.2 - Conflict of Interest Policy 0164 - Notice of Meetings

Policy 2623.02 - Third Grade Reading Guarantee

Policy 3120.08 - Employment of Personnel for Co-Curricular/Extra-Curricular Activities Employment of Personnel for Co-Curricular/Extra-Curricular Activities

Policy 5113.01 - Intra-District Open Enrollment

Policy 5320 - Immunization Use of Medications

Policy 5337 - Care of Student with Active Seizure Disorders
Policy 6240 - Board of Revision Complaints and Countercomplaints

Policy 6700 - Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

Policy 8120 - Volunteers
Policy 8210 - School Calendar
Policy 8330 - Student Records
Policy 8600 - Transportation

Policy 8650 - Transportation by School Van
Policy 9160 - Public Attendance at School Events
Policy 9211 - District Support Organizations

Policy 9270 – Equivalent Education Outside the Schools & participation in Extra-Curricular for Students

Not Enrolled in the District

Legal Alert 1 - Title IX Regulations

Vote: Tim Nadler—yea; Sam Walther—yea; Cindy Erickson—yea; Emily Liffick—yea; and John Schortgen—yea. Motion passed: 5-0.

193-23 Minutes

194-23 Financial Statements

Retirement K. Rieman

195-23

196-23

Resignation C. Mangas

P. Bennett

Resignation

Classroom Substitutes

199-23 Snow Removal

200-23 2^{nd} Reading
BoardPolicies

LEIPSIC LOCAL SCHOOL Board of Education

Minutes

Date: December 11, 2023 . Kind of Meeting: Regular	<u> </u>
Cindy Erickson made a motion, and Tim Nadler seconded the move, to approve the date & time of the Organizational Meeting of the Leipsic Local School District Board of Education as January 3, 2024 at 6:45 p.m. in the Media Center. Vote: Cindy Erickson—yea; Tim Nadler—yea; Emily Liffick—yea; John Schortgen—yea; and Sam Walther—yea. Motion passed: 5-0.	201-23 Organizational Meeting
Sam Walther made a motion, and John Schoretgen seconded the move, to approve the date & time of the Budget Hearing of the Leipsic Local School District Board of Education as January 3, 2024 at 6:50 p.m. in the Media Center. Vote: Sam Walther—yea; John Schortgen—yea; Cindy Erickson—yea; Emily Liffick—yea; and Tim Nadler—yea. Motion passed: 5-0.	202-23 Budget Hear Meeting
Cindy Erickson made a motion, and Tim Nadler seconded the move, to approve the appointment of Sam Walther to Serve as President Pro-tem of the Leipsic Local School District Board of Education from January 1, 2024 through January 3, 2024. Vote: Cindy Erickson—yea; Tim Nadler—yea; Emily Liffick—yea; John Schortgen—yea; and Sam. Walther—yea Motion passed: 5-0.	203-23 President Pro-tem - SW
PLANNING AND DISCUSSION	
 A. Superintendent Comments 1. District accepted Grants, Gifts, and Awards i. Grant from Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation B. Board Round Robin 	
INFORMATIONAL ITEMS	
Sam Walther made a motion, seconded by John Schortgen, to hold the Regular Board Meeting at 7:00 p.m. on January 3, 2024 in the Media Center. Vote: Sam Walther—yea; John Schortgen—yea; Cindy Erickson— yea; Emily Liffick—yea; and Tim Nadler—yea. Motion passed: 5-0.	204-23 Meeting Date
Cindy Erickson made a motion, seconded by Sam Walther to adjourn the meeting. Vote: Cindy Erickson—yea; Sam Walther—yea; Emily Liffick—yea; Tim Nadler—nay; and John Schortgen—yea. Motion passed: 4-1. Thanks and Appreciation to Cindy Erickson, Emily Liffick and Tim Nadler for their years of service to the district.	205-23 Adjourn
The meeting was adjourned at 7:40 p.m.	
President	
Treasurer	